On the white chalk cliffs on the northeast coast of the island of Rügen stand dense forests, in front of which roar blue sea waves of the Baltic Sea - a place where the head calms down and the soul becomes quite wide. For example, at Cape Arkona. Or in the Jasmund National Park.

Jasmund National Park is a driving destination nature.

Due to the comfortable train journey and the free mobility on site with the spa card you can enjoy your vacation environmentally friendly.

More info about Destination Nature

A name could hardly be more fittingThe Königsstuhl, which is part of the Jasmund National Park, towers white and majestically more than 100 meters above the glittering Baltic Sea. It is the most prominent elevation of the chalk cliffs of Rügen - the cliff formed more than 60 million years ago is not by chance one of the favorite motifs of photographers and painters, including the famous Caspar David Friedrich. In the visitor center of the national park, which at three hectares is the smallest in Germany, there is a lot of information about the history of the formation of the chalk cliffs in the Ice Age, and of course you have a great view of the coast and the sea from up there. 

In the hinterland of the cliff the large beech forests of the Stubnitz, which are part of the UNESCO World Natural Heritage, stretch out - hidden deep in the greenery is the mystical Hertha Lake, which according to legend was once a Germanic cult site. On many hiking trails you can explore the rich flora and fauna.

The special tip: Admire the chalk cliffs from the sea - tour boats depart regularly from the port of Sassnitz.

Good connection by train: From Sassnitz train station, easily accessible from Hamburg via Stralsund, you can walk to the National Park Center in about two hours. For less active visitors, buses also run regularly from Sassnitz.
By the way, you can find tips on how to travel comfortably and inexpensively on long-distance and local trains with Deutsche Bahn here.

Mobile on site even without a car: Königsstuhl or BernsteinTicket

With the Königsstuhl ticket, you can travel all routes of the Vorpommern Rügen transport company for one day, and admission to the National Park Center is also included. Bonus: Some lines run regularly as RADzfatz bicycle buses from Sassnitz train station during the high season. Another option: the Bernstein Ticket RÜG. With this ticket you can enjoy the whole day long bus & train on the island of Rügen for free, plus discounts at attractions on the island. More info here.

More articles from Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania

Auf den weißen Kreidefelsen an der Nordostküste der Insel Rügen stehen dichte Wälder, davor rauschen blaue Meereswogen der Ostsee – ein Ort, an dem sich der Kopf beruhigt und die Seele ganz weit wird. Zum Beispiel am Kap Arkona. Oder im Nationalpark Jasmund.

Mit Bahn und Bus zum Königsstuhl: Anreise planen

Passender könnte ein Name kaum sein: Der zum Nationalpark Jasmund zählende Königsstuhl ragt weiß und majestätisch mehr als 100 Meter hoch über der glitzernden Ostsee empor. Er ist die markanteste Erhebung der Kreidefelsen von Rügen – die vor mehr als 60 Millionen Jahren entstandene Steilküste zählt nicht von ungefähr zu den Lieblingsmotiven von Fotografen und Malern, darunter der berühmte Caspar David Friedrich. Im Besucherzentrum des Nationalparks, der mit drei Hektar übrigens der kleinste in Deutschland ist, gibt es vielerlei Informationen zur Entstehungsgeschichte der Kreidefelsen in der Eiszeit, und natürlich hat man von dort oben einen großartigen Weitblick über Küste und Meer. 

Im Hinterland der Steilküste erstrecken sich dann die großen Buchenwälder der Stubnitz, die zum Weltnaturerbe der UNESCO gehören – tief verborgen im Grünen liegt zudem der mystischer Herthasee, der Sage nach einst eine germanische Kultstätte. Auf vielen Wanderwegen lassen sich die artenreiche Flora und Fauna prima erkunden.

Der besondere Tipp: Die Kreidefelsen von der See aus bewundern – Rundfahrtschiffe starten regelmäßig ab dem Hafen Sassnitz.

Gute Anbindung per Bahn: Vom Bahnhof Sassnitz, ab Hamburg über Stralsund bequem erreichbar, wandert man in rund zwei Stunden zum Nationalpark-Zentrum. Für weniger aktive Besucher fahren ab Sassnitz auch regelmäßig Busse.
Tipps, wie ihr komfortabel und günstig im Fern- und Nahverkehr der Deutschen Bahn reist, findet ihr übrigens hier.

Mobil vor Ort auch ohne Auto: Königsstuhl- oder BernsteinTicket

Mit dem Königsstuhl-Ticket fährst du einen Tag lang alle Strecken der Verkehrsgesellschaft Vorpommern Rügen kostenlos, der Eintritt ins Nationalpark-Zentrum ist da auch noch mit drin. Bonus: Einige Linien fahren in der Hauptsaison ab Bahnhof Sassnitz regelmäßig als RADzfatz-Fahrradbus. Andere Option: das Bernstein Ticket RÜG. Mit diesem Ticket kannst du den ganzen Tag lang Bus & Bahn auf der Insel Rügen kostenlos genießen, hinzu kommen Vergünstigungen bei Sehenswürdigkeiten der Insel. Mehr Infos hier.