Gentle hills and wide, fertile fields characterize the landscape that spreads north of the Harz Mountains. The church towers of Halberstadt tower unmistakably over the countryside. Wernigerode, the "colorful city on the Harz", is one of the most popular destinations in this region.

Reading sample from the DuMont Pictorial Atlas Harz Mountains

This article comes from the DuMont Pictorial Atlas Harz Mountains from DuMont Reiseverlag. There you will find 120 pages of numerous active tips and recommendations tested by the author for every taste: how about downhill on the Bocksberg, climbing in the Oker Valley or a discovery tour on the tracks of migratory birds?

Buy book

The northern Harz foreland benefits from the Brocken in two ways: Tourists like to choose the beautiful towns on the edge of the Harz as the starting point for their Harz journey. And the heights shield against the rain, which mainly comes from the southwest. Thus, Wernigerode records significantly less precipitation than places in comparable climatic zones, and foehn weather patterns drive up temperatures.

"Hermann Löns once called Wernigerode a "colorful town on the Harz Mountains. The abundance of half-timbered houses still catches the eye; a lot of money has gone into restoration and lush, colorful paint jobs. The town, always at the forefront of Harz tourism since its beginnings, is still one of the most popular destinations. Numerous visitors drift through the alleys, photograph the half-timbered houses, marvel at wooden saints, jugglers and craftsmen animating house facades. Around the historic town hall, the crowds are at their densest. The market stalls offer cauliflower, carrots and potatoes, also sausage, cheese and flowers.

Suddenly, the first thick drops fall, umbrellas are opened. The queue at the fish snack bar dissolves abruptly as a cloudburst descends and drives countless tourists into the nearest stores. Café Wiecker also fills up in no time. While dark clouds loom outside, nimble waiters rush from table to table inside, nodding and taking notes, carrying heavily laden trays up and down again. Some take a late breakfast, others order an early lunch or have discovered the great selection of cakes. As soon as the first ray of sunlight glistens on the wet cobblestones, the weather emergency group impatiently waves to pay and continues their visit to the city, while the regulars sit back and quietly turn to their newspaper reading again.

The beautiful Ilse

There is no shortage of sagas, fairy tales and legends in the Harz Mountains. Mountains, caves, rock pinnacles, hidden waterfalls and impenetrable forests are the best breeding ground for their emergence. Where miners penetrate deep into the bones of the earth and charcoal burners dwell alone in the forest for weeks, dwarves and white women, enchanted deer, water spirits, robbers and enchanted souls have an easy time. Other mythical stories are rooted in the history of the Harz as the heartland of the German Empire. Barbarossa and Heinrich der Vogler, for example, provided material for legends.

Tales also unwind around striking natural beauties. On the Ilsestein, for example, once stood a mighty castle, the residence of a giant with a beautiful daughter. She had lost her heart, much to her father's displeasure, to the knight who lived nearby on the Westerberg. To separate the lovers, the giant cut the rocks in two, creating the Ilse Valley. Ilse, beside herself with pain, threw herself into the floods. Her restless soul sometimes appears on the shore in the form of a White Woman, and when she likes a lad, she takes him to her crystal castle in the mountain.

"In my white arms, at my white breast, there you shall lie and dream," Heinrich Heine puts into her mouth. He rapturously glorifies the river in his "Harzreise". Of course, Heine also climbed the Ilsestein and enjoyed the view. The river rushes up from the beech forests at the foot of the rock, the Brocken can be seen in the distance, and Ilsenburg and the beginnings of the North German Plain to the south.

Also preserved from Ilsenburg Monastery is the Kalefaktorium. In this only heated room of the monastery, the monks could warm themselves. © picture alliance / DUMONT Bildarchiv | Ralf Freyer

Cultivation of emptiness

On April 8, 1945, four weeks before Germany's surrender, a U.S. bomber unit leveled more than 80 percent of Halberstadt to the ground. After the war, prefabricated buildings replaced the town houses, and what half-timbered buildings remained in the "Rothenburg of the North" fell into disrepair. "The largest inner-city parking lot in the GDR," mocked the population, into which many millions of euros were poured after reunification. Urban renewal turned one of the ugliest cities in the GDR into a laboratory for urban development.

Because like many other eastern German cities, Halberstadt is also struggling with declining population figures. To illustrate this, in the heart of the city between the cathedral and the Liebfrauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) there is a void - deliberately kept empty - over which the wind drifts plumes of dust. A few tourists pause in irritation, studying the information board that elevates Halberstadt's emptiness to a virtue. But they have not come from Munich, Hamburg or elsewhere because of the emptiness, and they are already continuing on their way to the famous cathedral treasure.

Face of the angels

Halberstadt's cathedral treasure is appropriately staged in an annex to the cathedral. Whispering, visitors stand in front of the two oldest tapestries in Europe, striding in the semi-darkness along the figures whose gentle eyes survey centuries. Past wonderfully worked rock crystal flasks, gospels decorated over and over with gold, ivory and precious stones, and finely chiseled liturgical utensils, one arrives at the table reliquary, a kind of sumptuously decorated treasure box, whose rock crystal window reveals a raw sliver of wood, venerated as part of the cross of Christ. The abundance of precious objects sheds light on both the vast wealth of the church and the deep piety of the people of the Middle Ages, which made possible massive cathedrals and overflowing church treasuries.

As slow as possible

One of the world's most curious musical experiences is offered by a visit to Halberstadt's Buchardi Church, performance venue of the work "Organ²/ASLSP". Since the first note was played on September 5, 2001, it will take another 639 years for the last note to fade away, because, according to composer John Cage, to play it is "as slow as possible". A steady sound of multiple notes pervades the room, creating a booming, shimmering sound depending on where you listen. There is much discussion among the audience, and the project raises questions upon questions. How long does an infinitely long piece of music last? And is it still music at all, or just crazy? Whatever ASLSP may be, it is a flagship for the city in any case. Every new sound that is added becomes a media event. However, this requires a great deal of patience: A new note will not be struck again until February 5, 2022.

INFO & RECOMMENDATIONS

Wernigerode

The "colorful city on the Harz" with the fairy-tale castle visible from afar developed magnificently at the intersection of two trade routes since the 9th century. Especially the cloth weaving and the trade with beer provided prosperity. Today Wernigerode (33,000 inhabitants) is an important starting point for Brock tourism.

SEE ALSO

Spectacular center of the Old Town is the town hall (orig. 1277). Remarkable are the wooden figures that decorate the half-timbering in many places. The neo-Gothic market fountain (1848) is a work of the Ilsenburg ironworks.

The oldest part of the city is the so-called Klint west of the town hall with tiny alleys and the whimsical Leaning House. Almost in every street and alley you can find special half-timbered houses. Among the most beautiful are the Oberpfarre (Oberpfarrkirchhof 6), Café Wien (Breite Straße 4), the Krummelsche Haus (Breite Straße 72) and the Krellsche Schmiede (Breite Straße 95). Kochstraße 4 is the smallest house (1774; 4.20 m high and 2.95 m wide). The Sylvestri Church (1230) was the burial place of the counts of Wernigerode and underwent reconstruction from 1833 to 1885.

As "Neuschwanstein at the Harz" pleases itself Wernigerode Castle (originally around 1110); Count Ernst zu Stolberg-Wernigerode had it converted into a baroque castle between 1671 and 1676. The last remodeling took place at the end of the 19th century with the addition of oriels and turrets. Of the 250 rooms, 50 are open to visitors as showrooms.

The park below the castle is also worth seeing. A small train brings guests up the mountain (www.schloss-wernigerode.de; April-Dec. dgl. 10.00-18.00, otherwise until 17.00). The Hasseröder brewery on the western edge of town can be visited (Auerhahnring 1, tel. 03942 93 60, www.hasseroeder.de; tgl. by appointment).

MUSEUMS

In the Klint informs the Resin Museum about the history and natural history of the region and provides insights into, among other things, the fire department (Klint 10, www.harzmuseum.de; Tues.-Sat. 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.). In the industrial area west of the city center, the Aviation Museum Technology interested in (Gießerweg 1, www.luftfahrtmuseum-wernigerode.de; tgl. 10.00-18.00 h).

INFORMATION

Wernigerode Tourism, Marktplatz 10, 38855 Wernigerode, Tel. 03943 553 78

Halberstadt

After Charlemagne moved a bishop's see here in 804, Halberstadt became a center of Christianization. As a Hanseatic city, it maintained lively trade contacts. Heavy destruction during the Second World War seriously changed the image of the second largest city in the Harz Mountains (40,000 inhabitants).

SEE ALSO

Visible from afar, the towers of the cathedral, Liebfrauenkirche and Martini-Kirche crown Halberstadt. Modeled on French cathedrals, the Gothic cathedral was built in 1236-1491. Cathedral of St. Stephen and Sixtus erectedThe late Gothic rood screen (1510), the triumphal cross group carved around 1220 from the Romanesque predecessor building and a baptismal font from 1195 are impressive.

The highlight is the visit of the Cathedral treasure, one of the most important medieval church treasures in Europe; Bishop Konrad laid the foundation for the collection around 1205. 320 of the approximately 650 pieces can be viewed partly in the cathedral cloister, partly in a cuboid concrete annex.

At Carpet Room hang the oldest tapestries in Europe, the "Abraham Angel Carpet" (around 1150) and the "Christ Apostle Carpet" (around 1170). The splendor of Byzantium is reflected in pieces that probably came from the bridal treasure of the Byzantine wife of Emperor Otto II, Theophanu. Also on display is the Halberstadt Madonna from the Liebfrauenkirche, made in oak around 1230 (www.dom-schatz-halberstadt.de, Cathedral and Cathedral Treasury May-Oct Tues-Sat 10 a.m.-5:30 p.m., Sun, Fri 11 a.m.-5:30 p.m., Nov-April until 4 p.m. each day).

On the west side of the cathedral square rises the Liebfrauenkirche, built 1005-1020, renovated in the 12th century and rebuilt from the ruins in 1956-1960. In the simple interior, the choir stalls with late Romanesque colored stucco reliefs (c. 1200) stand out (June-Oct. Tues.-Sat. 11 a.m.-5 p.m., Sun. noon to 5 p.m., Nov.-May each until 4 p.m.).

In the St. Burchardi Church (origin 12th c.) in the north sounds "As slow as possible" by John Cage (1912-1992; www.aslsp.org; April- Oct. Tues.-Sun. 11 a.m.-5 p.m., Nov.-March Tues.-Sun. noon-4 p.m.). The two towers of different height of the Gothic church St. Martin (12th-14th c.) are considered landmarks of the city.

The secular center of Halberstadt extends around the City Hall (facade copy of the building erected in 1381). The Roland in front of the town hall dates from 1433, making it the second oldest in Germany. The inner-city life is concentrated around the wooden market and the fish market.

MUSEUMS

North of the cathedral is a magnificent Baroque building (1782), which today houses the Municipal Museum, arts and crafts and city history houses (www.museum-halberstadt.de; April-Oct. Tues.-Sun. 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Nov.-March until 4 p.m.). Just opposite, the museum presents Heineanum over 17 000 bird specimens from (www.heineanum.de; April-Oct. Tues.-Sun. 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Nov.-March until 4 p.m.).

North of the cathedral stands the Gleimhaus, once the home of poet and cathedral secretary Johann Wilhelm Ludwig Gleim (1719-1803), now a literary museum that displays more than 10,000 letters, original manuscripts, portraits, maps, etc. (www.gleimhaus.de; May-Oct. Tues.-Sun. 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Nov.-Apr. until 4 p.m.). Civic home decor and handicrafts are offered by the Screw Museum (Bailiwick 48, www.museum-halberstadt.de; April-Oct. Tues.-Sun. 1-5 p.m., otherwise Tues.-Sun. 1-4 p.m.). Testimonies to Jewish culture are housed in the Berend Lehman Museum (Judenstrasse 25; May-Oct. Tues.-Sun. 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Nov.-Apr. until 4 p.m.).

INFORMATION

Halberstadt Information, Holzmarkt 1, 38820 Halberstadt, Tel. 03941 55 18 15, www.halberstadt.de

Cover photo: © picture alliance / DUMONT Bildarchiv | Ralf Freyer

Further readings from the Dumont publishing program

Sanfte Hügel und weite, fruchtbare Felder kennzeichnen die Landschaft, die sich nördlich des Harzgebirges ausbreitet. Unübersehbar ragen die Kirchtürme von Halberstadt übers Land. Wernigerode, die „bunte Stadt am Harz“, zählt zu den beliebtesten Zielen dieser Region.

Leseprobe aus dem DuMont Bildatlas Harz

Dieser Artikel stammt aus dem DuMont Bildatlas Harz aus dem DuMont Reiseverlag. Dort findet ihr auf 120 Seiten zahlreiche Aktiv-Tipps und von der Autorin getestete Empfehlungen für jeden Geschmack: wie wäre es mit Downhill am Bocksberg, Klettern im Okertal oder einer Entdeckungstour auf den Spuren der Zugvögel?

Buch kaufen

Das nördliche Harzvorland profitiert vom Brocken zweifach: Touristen wählen die schönen Städte am Harzrand gern als Ausgangspunkt ihrer Harzreise. Und die Höhen schirmen gegen den Regen ab, der überwiegend aus Südwesten kommt. So verzeichnet Wernigerode deutlich weniger Niederschläge als Orte in vergleichbaren Klimazonen, und Fönwetterlagen treiben die Temperaturen hoch.

„Bunte Stadt am Harz“ hatte Hermann Löns Wernigerode einst genannt. Noch immer sticht die Fülle an Fachwerkhäusern ins Auge, viel Geld ist in Restaurierung und üppig-muntere Farbanstriche geflossen. Die Stadt, seit den Anfängen des Harztourismus immer ganz vorne dabei, gehört nach wie vor zu den beliebtesten Zielen. Zahlreiche Besucher lassen sich durch die Gassen treiben, fotografieren das Fachwerk, bestaunen hölzerne Heilige, Gaukler und Handwerker, die Hausfassaden beleben. Rund um das historische Rathaus ist der Auftrieb am dichtesten. An den Marktständen werden Blumenkohl, Möhren und Kartoffeln angeboten, auch Wurst, Käse und Blumen.

Plötzlich fallen erste dicke Tropfen, Schirme werden aufgespannt. Die Warteschlange am Fischimbiss löst sich schlagartig auf, als ein Wolkenbruch niedergeht und zahllose Touristen in die nächstbesten Geschäfte treibt. Auch das „Café Wiecker“ füllt sich im Nu. Während draußen dunkle Wolken dräuen, hasten drinnen flinke Bedienungen von Tisch zu Tisch, nicken und notieren, tragen schwer beladene Tabletts auf und wieder ab. Die einen nehmen ein spätes Frühstück, andere ordern ein frühes Mittagessen oder haben die großartige Tortenauswahl entdeckt. Kaum glitzert der erste Sonnenstrahl auf dem nassen Kopfsteinpflaster, winkt die Wetter-Notgemeinschaft ungeduldig zum Zahlen und setzt den Stadtbesuch fort, während sich die Stammgäste zurücklehnen und wieder in Ruhe ihrer Zeitungslektüre zuwenden.

Die schöne Ilse

An Sagen, Märchen und Legenden herrscht im Harz kein Mangel. Berge, Grotten, Felszinnen, versteckte Wasserfälle und undurchdringliche Wälder bilden den besten Nährboden für ihr Entstehen. Wo Bergmänner tief ins Gebein der Erde vordringen und Köhler wochenlang allein im Wald hausen, haben Zwerge und Weiße Frauen, verzauberte Hirsche, Wassergeister, Räuber und verwunschene Seelen leichtes Spiel. Andere mythische Geschichten wurzeln in der Geschichte des Harzes als Kernland des deutschen Kaisertums. Sagenstoff lieferten beispielsweise Barbarossa und Heinrich der Vogler.

Auch um markante Naturschönheiten entspannen sich Erzählungen. Auf dem Ilsestein beispielsweise erhob sich einst eine mächtige Burg, Wohnsitz eines Riesen mit einer schönen Tochter. Diese hatte ihr Herz sehr zum väterlichen Missfallen an den Ritter verloren, der nahebei auf dem Westerberg lebte. Um die Liebenden zu trennen, schlug der Riese die Felsen entzwei, wodurch das Ilsetal entstand. Ilse, außer sich vor Schmerz, stürzte sich in die Fluten. Ihre ruhelose Seele zeigt sich manchmal am Ufer in Gestalt einer Weißen Frau, und wenn ihr ein Bursche gefällt, nimmt sie ihn mit in ihr Kristallschloss im Berg.

„In meinen weißen Armen, an meiner weißen Brust, da sollst du liegen und träumen“, legt Heinrich Heine ihr in den Mund. Schwärmend verklärt er den Fluss in seiner „Harzreise“. Natürlich erkletterte Heine auch den Ilsestein und genoss die Aussicht. Aus den Buchenwäldern zu Füßen des Felsens rauscht der Fluss herauf, in der Ferne zeigen sich der Brocken, Richtung Süden Ilsenburg und die Anfänge der Norddeutschen Tiefebene.

Vom Kloster Ilsenburg blieb auch das Kalefaktorium erhalten. In diesem einzigen beheizbaren Raum des Klosters konnten sich die Mönche aufwärmen. © picture alliance / DUMONT Bildarchiv | Ralf Freyer

Kultivierung der Leere

Am 8. April 1945, vier Wochen vor der Kapitulation Deutschlands, machte ein US-Bomberverband über 80 Prozent Halberstadts dem Erdboden gleich. Nach dem Krieg ersetzten Plattenbauten die Bürgerhäuser, und was dem „Rothenburg des Nordens“ an Fachwerk geblieben war, verfiel. „Größter innerstädtischer Parkplatz der DDR“, spottete die Bevölkerung, in den nach der Wende viele Millionen Euro flossen. Die Stadterneuerung machte aus einer der hässlichsten Städte der DDR ein Laboratorium der Stadtentwicklung.

Denn wie viele andere ostdeutsche Städte kämpft auch Halberstadt mit sinkenden Bevölkerungszahlen. Um das zu illustrieren, herrscht im Herzen der Stadt zwischen Dom und Liebfrauenkirche – bewusst freigehaltene – Leere, über die der Wind Staubfahnen treibt. Ein paar Touristen halten irritiert inne, studieren die Informationstafel, die Halberstadts Leere zur Tugend erhebt. Doch der Leere wegen sind sie nicht aus München, Hamburg oder sonstwoher gekommen, und schon setzen sie ihren Weg zum berühmten Domschatz fort.

Antlitz der Engel

Halberstadts Domschatz ist in einem Anbau am Dom angemessen in Szene gesetzt. Flüsternd stehen die Besucher vor den beiden ältesten Bildteppichen Europas, schreiten im Halbdunkel die Figuren ab, deren sanfte Augen Jahrhunderte überblicken. Vorbei an wundervoll bearbeiteten Bergkristallflakons, über und über mit Gold, Elfenbein und Edelsteinen verzierten Evangeliaren und fein ziseliertem liturgischen Gerät gelangt man zum Tafelreliquiar, einer Art kostbar verziertem Schatzkästchen, dessen Bergkristall-Fensterlein den Blick auf einen rohen Holzsplitter freigibt, verehrt als Teil des Kreuzes Christi. Die Fülle an Kostbarkeiten wirft ein Licht sowohl auf den riesigen Reichtum der Kirche als auch auf die tiefe Frömmigkeit der Menschen des Mittelalters, die gewaltige Kathedralen und übervolle Kirchenschatzkammern ermöglichten.

So langsam wie möglich

Eines der kuriosesten Musikerlebnisse der Welt bietet der Besuch der Halberstädter Buchardikirche, Aufführungsort des Werks „Organ²/ASLSP“. Seit dem ersten Ton am 5. September 2001 wird es noch 639 Jahre dauern, bis der letzte Ton verklungen ist, denn, so der Komponist John Cage, zu spielen sei es „as slow as possible“, so langsam wie möglich. Ein gleichmäßiger Klang aus mehreren Tönen durchzieht den Raum, erzeugt einen wummernden, flirrenden Sound, je nachdem, an welcher Stelle man lauscht. Unter den Zuhörern wird viel diskutiert, das Projekt wirft Fragen über Fragen auf. Wie lang dauert ein unendlich langes Musikstück? Und ist das überhaupt noch Musik oder einfach nur verrückt? Was auch immer ASLSP sein mag, ein Aushängeschild für die Stadt ist es in jedem Fall. Jeder neu hinzukommende Ton gerät zum medienwirksamen Ereignis. Allerdings ist dazu eine ganze Menge Geduld gefragt: Erst am 5. Februar 2022 wird wieder eine neue Note angeschlagen.

INFOS & EMPFEHLUNGEN

Wernigerode

Die „bunte Stadt am Harz“ mit dem weithin sichtbaren Märchenschloss entwickelte sich am Schnittpunkt zweier Handelsstraßen seit dem 9. Jh. prächtig. Vor allem die Tuchweberei und der Handel mit Bier sorgten für Wohlstand. Heute ist Wernigerode (33 000 Einwohner) wichtiger Ausgangspunkt für den Brockentourismus.

SEHENSWERT

Spektakulärer Mittelpunkt der Altstadt ist das Rathaus (urspr. 1277). Bemerkenswert sind die Holzfiguren, die an vielen Stellen das Fachwerk zieren. Der neugotische Marktbrunnen (1848) ist ein Werk der Ilsenburger Eisenkunsthütte.

Ältester Teil der Stadt ist der sogenannte Klint westlich des Rathauses mit winzigen Gässchen und dem skurrilen Schiefen Haus. Fast in jeder Straße und Gasse finden sich besondere Fachwerkhäuser. Zu den schönsten gehört die Oberpfarre (Oberpfarrkirchhof 6), Café Wien (Breite Straße 4), das Krummelsche Haus (Breite Straße 72) und die Krellsche Schmiede (Breite Straße 95). Kochstraße 4 ist das Kleinste Haus (1774; 4,20 m hoch und 2,95 m breit). Die Sylvestrikirche (1230) war Grablege der Wernigeröder Grafen und erfuhr 1833–1885 einen Umbau.

Als „Neuschwanstein am Harz“ gefällt sich Schloss Wernigerode (urspr. um 1110); Graf Ernst zu Stolberg-Wernigerode veranlasste zwischen 1671 und 1676 den Umbau zu einem Barockschloss. Die letzte Umgestaltung erfuhr es Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts mit dem Anbau von Erkern und Türmchen. Von den 250 Räumen sind 50 als Schauräume für Besucher geöffnet.

Sehenswert ist auch der Park unterhalb des Schlosses. Eine Kleinbahn bringt Gäste auf den Berg (www.schloss-wernigerode.de; April–Dez. tgl. 10.00–18.00, sonst bis 17.00 Uhr). Die Hasseröder Brauerei am Westrand der Stadt kann besichtigt werden (Auerhahnring 1, Tel. 03942 93 60, www.hasseroeder.de; tgl. nach Vereinbarung).

MUSEEN

Im Klint informiert das Harzmuseum über die Geschichte und Naturkunde der Region und gibt Einblicke u. a. ins Feuerwehrwesen (Klint 10, www.harzmuseum.de; Di.–Sa. 10.00 bis 17.00 Uhr). Im Industriegebiet westlich der Innenstadt zieht das Luftfahrtmuseum Technikinteressierte an (Gießerweg 1, www.luftfahrtmuseum-wernigerode.de; tgl. 10.00–18.00 Uhr).

INFORMATION

Wernigerode Tourismus, Marktplatz 10, 38855 Wernigerode, Tel. 03943 553 78

Halberstadt

Nachdem Karl der Große 804 einen Bischofssitz hierher verlegt hatte, wurde Halberstadt ein Zentrum der Christianisierung. Als Hansestadt unterhielt sie rege Handelskontakte. Schwere Zerstörungen im Zweiten Weltkrieg veränderten das Bild der zweitgrößten Stadt im Harz (40 000 Einwohner) gravierend.

SEHENSWERT

Schon von weither sichtbar krönen die Türme von Dom, Liebfrauenkirche und Martini-Kirche Halberstadt. Nach dem Vorbild französischer Kathedralen wurde 1236–1491 der gotische Dom St. Stephanus und Sixtus errichtet; eindrucksvoll sind der spätgotische Lettner (1510), die um 1220 geschnitzte Triumphkreuzgruppe aus dem romanischen Vorgängerbau und ein Taufbecken von 1195.

Höhepunkt ist der Besuch des Domschatzes, einer der bedeutendsten mittelalterlichen Kirchenschätze Europas; Bischof Konrad legte um 1205 den Grundstock für die Sammlung. 320 der rund 650 Stücke können teils in der Domklausur, teils in einem quaderförmigen Betonanbau besichtigt werden.

Im Teppichsaal hängen die ältesten Bildteppiche Europas, der „Abraham-Engel-Teppich“ (um 1150) und der „Christus-Apostel-Teppich“ (um 1170). Die Pracht von Byzanz spiegeln Stücke wider, die wohl aus dem Brautschatz der byzantinischen Ehefrau Kaiser Ottos II., Theophanu, stammen. Auch die um 1230 in Eichenholz gefertigte Halberstädter Madonna aus der Liebfrauenkirche wird hier gezeigt (www.dom-schatz-halberstadt.de, Dom und Domschatz Mai–Okt. Di.–Sa. 10.00 bis 17.30, So., Fei. 11.00–17.30, Nov.–April jeweils bis 16.00 Uhr).

Auf der Westseite des Domplatzes erhebt sich die Liebfrauenkirche, 1005–1020 erbaut, im 12. Jh. erneuert und 1956–1960 aus den Trümmern wiedererrichtet. Im schlichten Inneren stechen die Chorschranken mit spätromanischen farbigen Stuckreliefs (um 1200) hervor (Juni–Okt. Di.–Sa. 11.00–17.00, So. 12.00 bis 17.00, Nov.–Mai jeweils bis 16.00 Uhr).

In der St.-Burchardi-Kirche (Urspr. 12. Jh.) im Norden erklingt „As slow as possible“ von John Cage (1912–1992; www.aslsp.org; April– Okt. Di.–So. 11.00–17.00, Nov.–März Di. bis So. 12.00 bis 16.00 Uhr). Die beiden unterschiedlich hohen Türme der gotischen Kirche St. Martini (12.–14. Jh.) gelten als Wahrzeichen der Stadt.

Das weltliche Zentrum Halberstadts erstreckt sich rund ums Rathaus (Fassade Kopie des 1381 errichteten Baus). Der Roland vor dem Rathaus stammt von 1433 und ist damit zweitältester in Deutschland. Das innerstädtische Leben ballt sich um Holz- und Fischmarkt.

MUSEEN

Nördlich des Doms liegt ein prächtiger Barockbau (1782), der heute das Städtische Museum, Kunsthandwerk und Stadtgeschichte beherbergt (www.museum-halberstadt.de; April–Okt. Di.–So. 10.00–17.00, Nov.–März bis 16.00 Uhr). Gleich gegenüber stellt das Museum Heineanum über 17 000 Vogelpräparate aus (www.heineanum.de; April–Okt. Di.–So. 10.00–17.00, Nov.–März bis 16.00 Uhr).

Nördlich des Doms steht das Gleimhaus, einst Wohnhaus von Dichter und Domsekretär Johann Wilhelm Ludwig Gleim (1719–1803), heute ein Literaturmuseum, das über 10 000 Briefe, Originalhandschriften, Bildnisse, Landkarten u. a. zeigt (www.gleimhaus.de; Mai–Okt. Di.–So. 10.00 bis 17.00, Nov.–April bis 16.00 Uhr). Bürgerliche Wohnkultur und Handwerk bietet das Schraube-Museum (Vogtei 48, www.museum-halberstadt.de; April–Okt. Di.–So. 13.00–17.00, sonst Di.–So. 13.00–16.00 Uhr). Zeugnisse zur jüdischen Kultur beherbergt das Berend-Lehmann-Museum (Judenstraße 25; Mai–Okt. Di.–So. 10.00–17.00, Nov.–April bis 16.00 Uhr).

INFORMATION

Halberstadt Information, Holzmarkt 1, 38820 Halberstadt, Tel. 03941 55 18 15, www.halberstadt.de

Titelbild: © picture alliance / DUMONT Bildarchiv | Ralf Freyer

Weitere Leseproben aus dem Dumont-Verlagsprogramm