Hamburgers as such are patriots and, for all their modesty, consider their hometown to be the most beautiful city in the world. Anyone who walks around the Alster on a sunny day, goes shopping in the Alsterarkaden and experiences the sunset at the harbor is inclined to agree with him.

Take the train to Jungfernstieg: Plan arrival

Hamburg is traditionally a cosmopolitan city, which is due to the port and the fact that ships from all over the world have always docked here. The port is also usually the first point of attraction for guests coming to Hamburg travel, for example, to experience one of the many musicals that are constantly performed here at various venues. 

Of course, you also want to see the sinful mile of the Reeperbahn once with your own eyes. And of course you also want to see the new Hafencity, which has come to life more and more in the last 15, 20 years and was further refined by the Elbphilharmonie in 2016: The grandiose concert hall was controversial for a long time - the immense costs! But since it was completed and went into operation, it has become one of the city's most important attractions in record time, almost a new landmark.

Hamburg's recreational value is immense: the Binnenalster with its serviced jetties, the Alsterarkaden between Jungfernstieg and Rathausmarkt, the small canals on which boats sail on nice days like in Venice, the classic shopping splendor on Mönckebergstraße, but also the colorful cultural and gastronomic scene in the neighboring neighborhoods of St. Pauli, Schanze and Karo-Viertel contribute to making a visit to the Hanseatic city a diverse pleasure in any case.

You can find more information about Hamburg here: The metropolis in the north

Good connection by train: From Hamburg's main train station you can take the U4, U2, S1 or S3 to Jungfernstieg in three minutes. By the way, you can find tips on how to travel comfortably and cheaply on long-distance and local trains with Deutsche Bahn here.

Cover picture: Alsterarkaden ©mediaserver.hamburg.de - Timo Sommer & Lee Maas

Der Hamburger als solcher ist Patriot und hält seine Heimatstadt bei aller Bescheidenheit für die schönste Stadt der Welt. Wer an einem Sonnentag um die Alster spaziert, in den Alsterarkaden einkaufen geht und den Sonnenuntergang am Hafen erlebt, ist geneigt, ihm zuzustimmen.

Mit der Bahn zum Jungfernstieg: Anreise planen

Hamburg ist traditionell eine weltoffene Stadt, was am Hafen liegt und dem Umstand, dass hier seit jeher Schiffe aus aller Welt anlegten. Der Hafen ist auch meist der erste Anziehungspunkt für Gäste, die nach Hamburg reisen, um zum Beispiel eines der zahlreichen Musicals zu erleben, die hier ständig an verschiedenen Orten aufgeführt werden. 

Sie wollen natürlich auch die sündige Meile der Reeperbahn einmal mit eigenen Augen sehen. Und man will natürlich auch die neue Hafencity sehen, die in den letzten 15, 20 Jahren immer mehr zum Leben erweckt und 2016 durch die Elbphilharmonie noch weiter veredelt wurde: Der grandiose Konzertsaal war lange Zeit umstritten – die immensen Kosten! Doch seitdem er fertiggestellt und in Betrieb gegangen ist, hat er sich in Rekordzeit zu einem der wichtigsten Anziehungspunkte der Stadt gemausert, zum neuen Wahrzeichen beinahe.

Der Freizeitwert Hamburgs ist immens: Die Binnenalster mit ihren bewirtschafteten Bootsstegen, die Alsterarkaden zwischen Jungfernstieg und Rathausmarkt, die kleinen Kanäle, auf denen an schönen Tage die Boote fahren wie in Venedig, die klassische Einkaufspracht an der Mönckebergstraße, aber auch die bunte Kultur- und Gastroszene in den benachbarten Vierteln St. Pauli, Schanze und Karo-Viertel tragen dazu bei, dass ein Besuch in der Hansestadt auf jeden Fall ein vielfältiges Vergnügen wird.

Gute Anbindung per Bahn: Vom Hamburger Hauptbahnhof fahrt ihr in drei Minuten mit der U4, U2, S1 oder S3 zum Jungfernstieg. Tipps, wie ihr komfortabel und günstig im Fern- und Nahverkehr der Deutschen Bahn reist, findet ihr übrigens hier.